GrapevineLIVE
Grapevine Magazine and its sister website GrapevineLIVE.co.uk have been promoting LIVE entertainment in East Anglia for over 25 years through our trusted free listings service. Register online today and add your events.

Miranda Sykes

© Allan Wilkinson

Miranda Sykes, the acclaimed singer and bassist with ‘Show of Hands’ is returning to her roots. After a career spanning over 20 years, during which time she has played with many of the top musicians and singers within the folk world, she will be touring as she started out: one woman, one bass, and one guitar.

BORROWED PLACES is her debut solo album and draws its inspiration primarily from the songs and landscape of her native Lincolnshire but seen through the eyes of someone who has lived away for many years. The themes are not specific; the land changes, it grows, it shrinks, it adapts and it resists but most of all it lives and breathes.

With her sensational voice, and accompanying herself, Miranda interprets the soul of the land and takes her audience on a journey that resonates with us all, wherever we live and it is one you won’t want to miss.

Her tour will also include previously unheard tracks from her forthcoming new album, due to be released in 2019.

Spring 2018 UK tour dates:

Wed 17 Jan – Ely Folk Club, Cambridgeshire
Sat 20 Jan – House Concert, Spalding, Lincolnshire
Sun 21 Jan – Fitzwalter Room, Goodnestone Park, Canterbury, Kent
Thu 8 Feb – Chettle Village Hall, Dorset
Fri 9 Feb – 1532 Performing Arts, Bristol
Sat 10 Feb – St Mary’s Parish Church, Kingskerswell, Devon
Fri 16 Feb – The Stables, Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Sat 17 Feb – The Greystones, Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Thu 22 Feb – The Church House, South Tawton, Devon
Fri 23 Feb – The Church House, South Tawton, Devon (SOLD OUT)
Sat 24 Feb – St Ann’s Arts, Barnstaple, North Devon
Fri 2 Mar – Manor House, Sedgefield, Durham
Tue 6 Mar – Dartford Folk Club, Kent
Wed 7 Mar – Banbury Folk Club, Oxfordshire
Thu 8 Mar – Seagull Theatre, Lowestoft, Suffolk
Sat 10 Mar – Clent Village Hall, Stourbridge, Worcestershire
Sat 17 Mar – The Old Chapel, Alfriston, East Sussex
Wed 28 Mar – Uffculme Village Hall, Cullompton, Devon
Fri 13 Apr – Cranleigh Folk Club, Surrey
Sat 14 Apr – Under The Edge Arts, Wotton Under Edge, Gloucestershire
Sun 15 Apr – Salem Chapel, East Budleigh, Devon
Thu 19 Apr – Ropetackle Arts Centre, Shoreham, W. Sussex
Fri 20 Apr – St Edith Hall, Kemsing, Kent
Sat 21 Apr – Swanton Novers Village Hall, Norfolk
Sun 22 Apr – Grimsby Folk Club, North East Lincolnshire
Wed 25 Apr – Nether Edge Folk Club, Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Thu 26 Apr – Firbeck Village Hall, Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Fri 27 Apr – Lichfield Arts, Staffordshire

For tickets or more information visit www.mirandasykes.com.