GrapevineLIVE
Grapevine Magazine and its sister website GrapevineLIVE.co.uk have been promoting LIVE entertainment in East Anglia for over 25 years through our trusted free listings service. Register online today and add your events.

Pete Spiby

Following the release of his debut solo album earlier this summer, former Black Spiders/Groop Dogdrill frontman Pete Spiby ends 2018 with a series of lives dates in the UK in November and December. A double album, ‘Failed Magician’ successfully showcases the many moods of Spiby, from the first discs’ roaring primal rock, to the second’s subtle acoustic reworkings, the tour dates announced today allow Pete to tackle both aspects of his music in the live setting.

“Through shear tears of joy, we are delighted to tell you that there will be a series of live events happening, which is quite a mixed bag,” explains Pete. “Firstly, if you hadn’t seen it already myself and the Beat Alls will be supporting the MC5 on their MC50 tour at Bristol O2 Academy, followed by a set of solo dates supporting Tony Wright around the country, before me and the Beat Alls then embark on our own, first headline tour around the UK with our good friends Steel Trees supporting. We tried every little shithole town we knew, and this is all we could get, as people are celebrating Xmas dinners, so we’ll try again next year. Maybe we’ll catch a beer or two with you out there.”

Today also sees the unveiling of a new video and song as part of a Halloween project in association with Jägermeister, where Pete does his own version of ‘If You Were the Only Girl in The World’, the old standard made famous by Dean Martin.

“It was great to be asked by Jager to get involved in their ‘Halloween project’ for 2018. Quite a tough one, finding a song that is in the public domain, well known and upbeat and then making it down beat. I tried and failed a few times, but this one was by far the best song to do and would have fitted well on my album. It’s a lament to all those long suffering serenaders and as Halloween is so close to Dia de Muertos, the video made itself…”

2018 UK TOUR

Fri 9th Nov – BRISTOL O2 (with the MC5)
Tue 13th Nov – SWINDON LEVEL 3 (Pete solo with Tony Wright)
Mon 19th Nov – GLASGOW HUG and PINT (Pete solo with Tony Wright)
Tue 20th Nov – EDINBURGH BANNERMANS (Pete solo with Tony Wright)
Wed 21st Nov – SHEFFIELD CORPORATION (Pete solo with Tony Wright)
Thu 22nd Nov – MILTON KEYNES CRAUFORD ARMS (Pete solo with Tony Wright)
Fri 23rd Nov – PRESTON FERRET (Pete solo with Tony Wright)
Sun 25th Nov – EXETER CAVERN (Pete solo with Tony Wright)
Mon 26th Nov – PENZANCE THE ACORN (Pete solo with Tony Wright)

  • Tue 27th Nov – CAMBRIDGE PORTLAND ARMS (Pete solo with Tony Wright)

Wed 28th Nov – HALIFAX LATERN (Pete solo with Tony Wright)
Thu 6th Dec – GLASGOW NICE & SLEAZYS
Fri 7th Dec – YORK FULFORD ARMS
Sat 8th Dec – EXETER CAVERN
Thu 13th Dec – BIRMINGHAM SUNFLOWER LOUNGE
Fri 14th Dec – SHEFFIELD ROYAL STANDARD
Sun 16th Dec – LONDON BLACK HEART

For more information or to book visit failedmagician.com.