GrapevineLIVE
Grapevine Magazine and its sister website GrapevineLIVE.co.uk have been promoting LIVE entertainment in East Anglia for over 25 years through our trusted free listings service. Register online today and add your events.

Carols & Capers

Queen of folk and singer Maddy Prior joins up once again with the Carnival Band during the Festive Season for their unique celebratory show “Carols & Capers”.

Together they mix renaissance, modern and ethnic instruments with a refreshing cavalier attitude and plenty of humour putting their inimitable stamps on a range of familiar and not-so-familiar festive fare.

Tossed together in 1984 on a ‘let’s see what we come up with’ basis for a Yuletide Radio 2 broadcast, what began as a one-off session in a village hall in Cumbria has endured for over twenty years and has become something of a tradition in its own right.

Fortunately it shows little danger of fossilisation as both parties keep coming up with new ideas. The 2001 collaboration and fifth album, of “Gold, Frankincense and Myrrh” introduced a good deal of Arabic and African-influenced music into the equation. The next project explored the lives of eighteenth century female soldiers and the ballads they inspired.

Of all the festive traditions, few have stood the test of time better than the Christmas carol. Maddy Prior and the Carnival Band know this more than most, having been inspired by the music of Christmas for the past twenty-five years. Now and for the first time, the very best of these have been brought together on one album. “The Best Of Maddy Prior and The Carnival Band” collects twenty two tracks from across their career. Along the way you will find a mixture of the familiar and the less well known, all presented in a most unique style.

With an extensive experience in folk, medieval, world and classical music between them, the singer and players guide us to exquisite places. Telling the Christmas story in a variety of ways, the likes of ‘I Saw Three Ships’, ‘While Shepherds Watched’, ‘God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen’ and ‘The Holly Ivy’ are revealed as versatile, striking pieces of music with words to match.

Maddy Prior & The Carnival Band 2018 Tour Dates:

  • Sun 2nd December – The Apex, Bury St Edmunds (01284 758000)
  • Mon 3rd December – Palace Theatre, Southend on Sea (01702 351135)

Tues 4th December – St George’s, Bristol
Wed 5th December – Borough Theatre, Abergavenny
Fri 7th December – The Atkinson, Southport
Sat 8th December – The Forum, Barrow In Furness
Sun 9th December – The Platform, Morecambe
Tues 11th December – CAST, Doncaster
Wed 12th December – The Sage, Gateshead
Fri 14th December – The Haymarket, Basingstoke
Sat 15th December – Tivoli Theatre, Wimbourne
Sun 16th December – The Stables, Milton Keynes
Mon 17th December – The Capitol, Horsham
Wed 19th December – Town Hall, Birmingham
Thurs 20th December – Town Hall, Cheltenham
Fri 21st December – St John The Evangelist, Oxford
Sat 22nd December – Cadogan Hall, London