dr feelgood
Hannah Rose Platt

Hannah Rose Platt

Hannah Rose Platt has released a special deluxe edition of ‘Deathbed Confessions’. Something of a victory lap for her acclaimed 2023 album, the expanded version will feature four additional acoustic versions of some of Hannah’s favourite tracks from the record.

As per the studio album, the additional tracks were recorded with Ed Harcourt at his Wolf Cabin studio, with the producer appearing as a guest vocalist on the reworked version of ‘The Mermaid & The Sailor’. The deluxe edition will also feature ‘Tango With Your Fear’, ‘Hedy Lamarr’, and ‘Feeding Time For Monsters’, all of which have been stripped back to their bare bones and beastly narratives. 

Released in the Spring of 2023 and produced by Ed Harcourt, ‘Deathbed Confessions’ comprises a collection of ghoulish ghost stories, melodious murder ballads, and humorous hammer-horrors. Inspired by classic horror such as Rod Serling’s ‘The Twilight Zone’, the BBC’s ‘Inside No 9’, and the balladeer categories of Samuel Peyps; Platt distilled them all into this scintillatingly strange album. Featuring the singles ‘Feeding Time For Monsters’, ‘Dead Man On The G Train’ and the spellbinding duet ‘The Mermaid & The Sailor'(with Ed Harcourt)’.

dr feelgood

Receiving warm reviews across the board, ‘Deathbed Confessions’ was praised by The Crack as “twelve murder-ballad tales that are dripping in gothic stylings”, whereas Americana UK hailed the record as a glimpse into future greatness, enthusing “a resounding success and one that should see Platt’s trajectory as an artist and songwriter rise to the next level” (8/10). Cementing her class as a born storyteller, Hannah’s debut was further praised by literature giant Neil Gaiman who praised the record as “marvellous… Beautiful and moving”

Touring across Scandinavia with Frank Turner last Autumn, Hannah also released a chilling new EP to coincide with the shows called: ‘Hypnagogia’. Inspired by haunting Nordic folklore, the EP comprised four fully fleshed-out songs produced by Ed Harcourt alongside four spoken-word interludes narrated by British acting talent and BAFTA nominee David Morrissey (Sherwood / The Long Shadow). The EP was praised by RNR Magazine as “something wicked”. 

Already hatching plans for a bright 2024 to come, Hannah has a very special headline show in London where she will be performing ‘Deathbed Confessions’ and ‘Hypnagogia’ in full. Hannah will also be supporting labelmates The Sleeping Souls on their January tour, plus Chuck Ragan in February. Dates below – tickets on sale now.

Hannah Rose PLatt UK Tour Dates

23 Jan – GLASGOW King Tuts*
24 Jan – NOTTINGHAM Rescue Rooms*
25 Jan – MANCHESTER Band On The Wall*
26 Jan – BRISTOL Thekla*
27 Jan – LONDON The Garage*
01 Feb – Green Door Store **
02 Feb – BRISTOL Exchange **
03 Feb – SOUTHAMPTON Papillon **
04 Feb – NOTTINGHAM Bodega **
05 Feb – MANCHESTER Deaf Institute **
06 Feb – EDINBURGH The Caves **
07 Feb – LEEDS Brudenell **
08 Feb – BIRMINGHAM Hare & Hounds **
09 Feb – LONDON 100 Club **
16 Feb – LONDON – The Other Palace – HEADLINE
“An Evening With Hannah Rose Platt & Friends”

* supporting The Sleeping Souls
** supporting Chuck Ragan

Live gig listings from Grapevine Magazine
Hannah Rose Platt
register online
sign in

folk on the pier

editors picks
Grapevine Magazine cover April 24