Register / Sign In to add your gigs

King King Announce New Album ‘Maverick’

King King are pleased to announce that their fifth studio album “Maverick” will be released on Friday 16th October 2020 via Channel 9 Music – King King’s new independent label. The 10-track album, released on CD, vinyl and various bundles, is available for pre-order from

The first single ‘I Will Not Fall’, which has been A-listed on Planet Rock, and will be available as an instant grat track with all pre-orders, plus exclusive content including track by track commentary by Alan Nimmo.

“Maverick” follows 2017’s critically acclaimed album “Exile & Grace” and includes the new line-up featuring Alan Nimmo (vocals/guitar), Stevie Nimmo (guitar), Jonny Dyke (organ/piano), Zander Greenshields (bass) and Andrew Scott (drums). The album was engineered and mixed by Liam McCluskey at Morsecode Studios in Glasgow.

Produced by Alan Nimmo, Jonny Dyke and Liam McCluskey at Morsecode Studios in Glasgow, the new album is co-written by Alan Nimmo, Zander Greenshields, Jonny Dyke and Andrew Scott, with all lyrics co-written by Alan Nimmo and newest member Stevie Nimmo (guitar).

Recording the new album with the new line-up has been a whole lot of fun and very interesting. It’s great watching the guys using the great talent they have bringing the songs to life.

Most of the songs, bar one, were co-written by all the band members, while all arrangements were co-written by Alan and keyboardist Jonny Dyke. I value contributions from all of the guys in the making of new music. Johnny and I found a great rhythm working together. We just got our heads down and made sure that the songs were arranged in the best way possible.

Alan Nimmo

King King has evolved as a band, and their fifth album, Maverick, is no exception. But what makes this new album different from all the previous King King albums?

Maverick is an album that I chose to write with complete freedom. Musically, it’s more mature and more complex than our previous records, but it also has the simplicity of an album that just has great catchy songs that people will want to sing along with. The essence of King King is still there and always will be. We hope the energy, fun and passion is evident throughout!

Alan NImmo

But why call the new album Maverick?

I named the album Maverick at a time when it was risky to do so. I made some bold moves and changes from band members to behind-the-scenes stuff. I guess that’s who I am. I’m a risk-taker!

Alan Nimmo


  • Bexhill De La Warr Pavilion – Friday 16 October 2020
  • Planet Rock’s Rocktober, Bristol O2 Academy 1 – Saturday 17 October 2020
  • Exeter Phoenix – Sunday 18 October 2020
  • Edinburgh Queens Hall – Tuesday 20 October 2020
  • Leeds Uni Stylus – Wednesday 21 October 2020
  • Planet Rock’s Rocktober, Sheffield O2 Academy – Saturday 24 October 2020
  • Harpenden Public Halls – Sunday 25 October 2020
  • Bilston Robin – Tuesday 27 October 2020
  • Cambridge Junction – Wednesday 28 October 2020


  • York Grand Opera House – Wednesday 3 February 2021
  • Manchester Academy – Friday 5 February 2021
  • Sheffield Leadmill – Saturday 6 February 2021
  • Cardiff Y Plas – Sunday 7 February 2021
  • Birmingham Town Hall – Tuesday 9 February 2021
  • London Electric Ballroom – Saturday 13 February 2021
  • Salisbury City Hall – Sunday 14 February 2021
  • Bury St Edmunds, The Apex – Tuesday 16 February 2021
  • Newcastle Boiler Shop – Wednesday 17 February 2021
  • Glasgow Old Fruitmarket – Thursday 18 February 2021


Latest articles

Related articles