Lanterns On The Lake Vinyl Re-issue & UK Tour


Lanterns On The Lake have announced news of a deluxe 10th Anniversary vinyl reissue of their acclaimed debut album, Gracious Tide, Take Me Home, out 11th June via Bella Union and available to preorder here. The band’s much-loved debut has been meticulously remastered at Abbey Road studios and will be released on double vinyl in a gatefold sleeve with gold foil print. Additionally, the album comes with five previously unreleased tracks recorded during the original sessions, details of which can be found in the track-list below. Lanterns On The Lake have shared a trailer for the album which can be viewed HERE.

Fusing the most fragile and graceful end of the folk music spectrum to the most luminous properties of cinemascope rock, Gracious Tide, Take Me Home used a smorgasbord of instruments to paint a variety of beautiful vistas, from the ambient ‘Ships In The Rain’ to the galloping ‘A Kingdom’, from the six-minute layers of ‘The Places We Call Home’ to the skeletal 73-second finale ‘Not Going Back To The Harbour’. There’s always been a compelling drama to Lanterns On The Lake; the way the opening track ‘Lungs Quicken’ shifts from dreamy restraint to a full-blown crescendo indicated the true power at their fingertips.

Lanterns On The Lake formed in 2008 combining a group of friends who had all played in various bands on the local music scene. Hazel Wilde (vocals, guitar), Paul Gregory (guitars, electronics) and Ol Ketteringham (drums, piano) still comprise the core of the band whilst previous members Adam Sykes (vocals, guitar), Brendan Sykes (bass) and Sarah Kemp (violin) departed prior to the second album.

Hazel commented at the time that: “A lot of lyrics were inspired by my moving back to the coast (North Shields), where I grew up, after I’d been living near the city centre. They’re also memories of growing up here, the feeling of homesickness, and stories of people around us and of the sea. The title Gracious Tide, Take Me Home seemed to sum up all the themes.”

There might be a vein of sadness through this music – ‘Ships In The Rain’ was inspired by a local fisherman who went missing at sea, and ‘A Kingdom’ was inspired by the book letters sent home by WW2 soldiers – but there is just as much hope in ‘Keep on Trying’  and ‘You’re Almost There’, where fear and insecurities are banished by self-belief; “the feeling that you’re going places,” as Hazel says. Mirroring the sentiment of the album title, ‘I Love You, Sleepyhead’ and ‘Places We Call Home’ draw on the comfort and security of home, friendship and memory.

Having been forced to postpone their touring plans for last year’s Mercury nominated Spook The Herd album, Lanterns On The Lake should finally have the chance to perform the songs live for their fans this Autumn when they take to the road.

Tour Dates:

  • Wednesday 6th October – Leeds – Brudenell Social Club
  • Thursday 7th October – Cambridge – Storey’s Field Centre
  • Friday 8th October – London – EartH
  • Thursday 14th October – Manchester – Gorilla
  • Friday 15th October – Birmingham – The Actress & Bishop
  • Saturday 16th October – Guildford – Boileroom
  • Sunday 17th October – Southampton – The Brook
  • Friday 22nd October – Brighton – Patterns
  • Saturday 23rd October – Corsham – Pound Arts Centre
  • Sunday 24th October – Exeter – Exeter Phoenix
  • Thursday 28th October – Stockton Georgian Theatre
  • Friday 29th October – Glasgow – King Tuts
  • Saturday 30th October – Bury – The MET
  • Friday 19th November – Norwich – Waterfront Studio
  • Saturday 20th November – Bristol – Thekla
  • Sunday 21st November – Nottingham – Rescue Rooms
  • Thursday 9th December – Hebden Bridge – Trades Club
  • Friday 10th December – Newcastle – Boiler Shop

Previous articleLockdown Lowdown At Your Local Venues: Part 4
Next articlePublic Booking Now Open for Norfolk & Norwich Festival