Sklamberg & The Shepherds

Three renowned performers of Eastern European Jewish music come together in this exceptional new trio: Lorin Sklamberg, co-founder of the legendary Klezmatics; uniquely innovative clarinettist Merlin Shepherd, and the remarkable vocalist/pianist Polina Shepherd, originally from Siberia. Together they group as SKLAMBERG & THE SHEPHERDS.

Each performer represents a different nation, yet their backgrounds are closely related, their ancestors emigrating from the Ukraine to find a better world elsewhere.

This fresh collaboration blends traditional and contemporary Yiddish and Russian song with klezmer styles and Southern Mediterranean music. Influenced by several cultures and maintaining individual styles, the trio plays original and traditional material with freedom and spontaneity. With mournful solo clarinet, bouncy village songs, and some fiery vocals, their performance takes us on a breath-taking musical journey that is full of spirited joy and deep emotion.

They have now announced a UK tour, and the dates are as follows: 

Wed 22 Mar – York | NCEM
Thu 23 Mar – Gateshead | The Sage Gateshead
Fri 24 Mar – Birmingham | mac Birmingham
Sat 25 Mar – Cambridge | Junction
Sun 26 Mar – Milton Keynes | The Stables
Tue 28 Mar – Bristol | Colston Hall /Lantern
Wed 29 Mar – Sheffield | University of Sheffield
Fri 31 Mar – Bangor | Pontio
Sun 02 Apr – Bury St Edmunds | The Apex
Tue 04 Apr – London | Rich Mix London

For more information or to book visit: sklambergandtheshepherds.wordpress.com / www.facebook.com/polinashepherd / www.facebook.com/makingtrackslive