Register / Sign In to add your gigs

Simon Evans Rescheduled Tour

The Work of the Devil marches on, and tickets are on sale.

Simon’s last tour, Genius 2.0, provided a hilarious analysis of the departure of any visible sign of intelligence from modern life. But his new show raises the stakes, with his usual excoriating views of a world on fire – given a perspective shift due to personal revelations that have recently turned his world upside down.  In 2019, Evans adapted to unexpected personal revelations of a quite extraordinary nature, and used them to re-examine his entire 23-year career in comedy to date. And in so doing he has, in the words of Chortle’s Jay Richardson, “Exceeded what seemed to be his full potential”.

Simon Evans is one of the country’s best-loved stand-up comedians, with a loyal fan base who greatly appreciate his intelligent and independent scrutiny of the modern world. His tongue-in-cheek, often rueful attachment to traditionalism, and his scepticism towards the claimed achievements of progressive politics and modernist aesthetics, have set him apart from many of his contemporaries. As well as making him a firm favourite on the usual platforms – Live at the Apollo, the Edinburgh Festival and the corporate circuit in particular – these qualities allow him to provide much-needed latitude and offer a diversity of views on TV and radio programmes, from BBC One’s Question Time to Radio 4’s The News Quiz. He has also written and presented five series of the groundbreaking economics/comedy hybrid Simon Evans Goes to Market, also for Radio 4.

Jaw-Dropping… You tend to expect a high standard of stand-up from this veteran performer. But in sharing something so deeply personal he has exceeded what seemed to be his full potential. Outstanding stuff.

Jay Richardson, Chortle

Tour dates:

  • Friday, 16th July Bath Widcombe Social Club (Festival) www.widcombesocialclub.co.uk
  • Thursday, 2nd September Cirencester Sundial www.ticketsource.co.uk
  • Friday, 3rd September Banbury The Mill Arts Centre www.themillartscentre.co.uk
  • Saturday, 4th September Leeds The Wardrobe www.thewardrobe.co.uk
  • Tuesday, 7th September Cheltenham Town Hall (Pillar Room) www.cheltenhamtownhall.org
  • Thursday, 9th September Taunton Brewhouse www.thebrewhouse.net
  • Friday, 10th September Swindon Arts Centre https://swindontheatres.co.uk
  • Saturday, 11th September Otley Courthouse https://otleycourthouse.org.uk
  • Sunday, 12th September London Leicester Square Theatre www.leicestersquaretheatre.com
  • Thursday, 16th September Twickenham The Exchange exchangetwickenham.co.uk
  • Friday, 17th September Christchurch The Regent www.regentcentre.co.uk
  • Sunday, 19th September London Leicester Square Theatre www.leicestersquaretheatre.com
  • Wednesday, 22nd September Lincoln New Theatre Royal www.ents24.com
  • Thursday, 23rd September Colchester Arts Centre www.colchesterartscentre.com
  • Saturday, 25th September Millom The Beggar’s Theatre https://beggarstheatre.com
  • Sunday, 26th September (5.20pm) Newcastle upon Tyne The Stand www.thestand.co.uk/newcastle
  • Sunday, 26th September (8pm) Newcastle upon Tyne The Stand www.thestand.co.uk/newcastle
  • Wednesday, 29th September Sudbury Quay Theatre www.quaysudbury.com
  • Saturday, 9th October Kettering Arts Centre ketteringartscentre.com
  • Thursday, 14th October Andover The Lights www.thelights.org.uk
  • Friday, 15th October Andover The Lights www.thelights.org.uk
  • Saturday, 23rd October Saffron Walden Town Hall www.jesterlarf.com
  • Thursday, 28th October High Wycombe Old Town Hall https://wycombeswan.co.uk
  • Friday, 29th October Bakewell Town Hall www.bakewelltownhall.co.uk
  • Saturday, 30th October Richmond, N. Yorks Georgian Theatre Royal www.georgiantheatreroyal.co.uk
  • Thursday, 4th November Bognor Regis Regis Centre alexandratheatre.co.uk
  • Wednesday, 10th November Salford The Lowry https://thelowry.com
  • Thursday, 11th November Darwen Library Theatre darwenlibrarytheatre.com
  • Friday, 12th November Chorley Theatre https://chorleytheatre.com
  • Friday, 19th November Monmouth Savoy Theatre www.monmouth-savoy.co.uk
  • Saturday, 20th November Exeter Corn Exchange www.exetercornexchange.co.uk
  • Saturday, 27th November Bordon Phoenix Theatre www.phoenixarts.co.uk
  • Saturday, 29th January 2022 Newport,Isle of Wight Medina Theatre medinatheatre.co.uk
  • Friday, 4th February Tunbridge Wells Trinity Theatre www.trinitytheatre.net
  • Thursday, 10th February Redruth Regal Theatre www.merlincinemas.co.uk
  • Thursday, 24th February Milton Keynes The Stables https://stables.org
  • Saturday, 26th February Worcester Huntingdon Hall www.worcesterlive.co.uk
  • Wednesday, 2nd March Barnard Castle The Witham https://thewitham.org.uk
  • Thursday, 3rd March Alnwick Playhouse www.alnwickplayhouse.co.uk
  • Friday, 4th March Hexham Queens Hall www.queenshall.co.uk
  • Saturday, 5th March Northallerton The Forum www.forumnorthallerton.org.uk
  • Friday, 11th March Barton-upon-Humber The Ropewalk www.the-ropewalk.co.uk
  • Saturday, 12th March Leek Foxlowe Arts Centre www.foxloweartscentre.org.uk
  • Friday, 18th March Chesham The Elgiva elgiva.com/shows/simon-evans
  • Sunday, 20th March Portsmouth Wedgewood Rooms www.wedgewood-rooms.co.uk
  • Thursday, 31st March Carmarthen Lyric Theatre www.theatrausirgar.co.uk
  • Friday, 1st April Cardigan Theatr Mwldan www.mwldan.co.uk
  • Saturday, 23rd April Workington Carnegie Theatre carnegietheatre.co.uk
  • Friday, 29th April Barnsley The Lamproom Theatre www.barnsleylamproom.com
  • Saturday, 30th April Loughborough Town Hall www.loughboroughtownhall.co.uk
Grapevine Editorhttp://www.grapevinelive.co.uk
Grapevine Magazine was first published in 1991. The small Editorial Team, based in Ipswich, Suffolk collate information about live entertainment across East Anglia for the magazine's well known listings. In addition the team publish reviews and interviews on all forms of entertainment. Send your PRESS RELEASES to PressRelease@GrapevineLIVE.co.uk
2,561FansLike
970FollowersFollow
3,853FollowersFollow

Latest articles

Related articles