Norwich Playhouse Announce Exciting New Season Of Shows

Norwich Playhouse announces exciting season for Autumn 2019. Including comedy from Ed Gamble, Flo & Joan, Andy Parsons & Count Arthur Strong, a contemporary production of Othello set in the Jazz-age, children’s picture-book favourites transformed for the stage, a comedy show from She Go of Nimmo Twins fame, and A Circus Carol from Lost in Translation Circus.

With over 50 shows and 120 performances, the Playhouse’s Autumn Season truly has something for everybody. Running from September 2019 to January 2020, these fabulous productions are sure to brighten the winter months.

Caroline Richardson, Director of the Playhouse, says “Our Autumn season of shows is all about brilliantly original work, with award-winning Edinburgh Fringe productions, exciting co-productions between Norwich Playhouse and Norwich Theatre Royal, fantastic comedy, and must-sees direct from London!”

Family

The cosy surroundings of the Playhouse auditorium make it the perfect space for first theatre trips, and there are plenty of fantastic children’s shows to choose from. Leaping onto the stage for the very first time is Oi Frog & Friends!  (Tue 15 – Sun 20 Oct), in an action-packed musical inspired by Kes Gray and Jim Field’s award-winning picture books.

Much loved children’s author Jacqueline Wilson (Sun 13 Oct) will discuss her newest book We Are The Beaker Girls, in advance of the UK publication of her latest Tracy Beaker story, at this rare event. She will be signing books afterwards.

Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler’s bestselling love story The Scarecrows’ Wedding (Tue 19 – Sun 24 Nov) is an unmissable production filled with live music and plenty of fun.

Beautiful and enchanting dance theatre comes to the Playhouse with Arthur Pita’s The Little Match Girl (Wed 27 – Sat 30 Nov) in this rave-reviewed family dance piece based on the haunting Hans Christian Andersen fairy-tale.

The Playhouse is delighted to collaborate with Norwich Science Festival once again to present fascinating, intriguing, science inspired shows. This year features two shows especially for youngsters, from CBeebies star Maddie Moate (Mon 21 Oct) and The Horrible Science Show (Thur 24 Oct) based on the phenomenally successful books. Also on the stage as part of the Science Festival are Radio 4 presenter and scientist Adam Rutherford (Tue 22 Oct) who will explore humanity and evolution, and ex-doctor Adam Kay (Wed 23 Oct) with his show based on the No 1 bestselling book This Is Going to Hurt.

Comedy

As always, there’s plenty of brilliantly funny stand-up from the best comedy venue in the East. We open with four nights of Ruby Wax (Tue 3 – Fri 6 Sept), a re-creation of Morecambe and Wise in An Evening With Eric & Ern (Fri 13 Sept), Andy Parsons (Tue 24 & Wed 25 Sept) presents his reassuring treatise on healing the nation, and The Scummy Mummies (Sat 5 Oct) promises to inspire parents and non-parents in fits of laughter. Jonny & The Baptists (Sat 12 Oct) combine music, comedy, and activism, Ellie Taylor (Thur 17 Oct) bangs on about life and love, Taskmaster contestant Lou Sanders (Sat 19 Oct) brings her new Edinburgh show, and Radio 4’s Jon Culshaw and Bill Dare present The Great British Take Off (Sun 27 Oct).

Telly star Count Arthur Strong (Wed 30 & Thur 31 Oct) returns to tackle life’s big questions, Griff Rhys Jones (Thur 7 Nov) shares insights into celebrity, Flo & Joan (Tue 19 Nov & Wed 20 Nov) delight with musical ridicule and Ed Gamble (Thur 21 Nov) is back with Blizzard, which has already sold out three times this year at the Playhouse. Jason Byrne (Fri 22 & Sat 23 Nov) is wrecked but ready as ever, Gary Delaney (Mon 9 & Tue 10 Dec) performs non-stop gags, and telly favourites are recreated with tinsel thanks to Christmas With Steptoe & Son (Sat 4 Jan).

Karl Minns returns to the Playhouse in a Nimmo Twins character; She Go, in She Go Looks Back from Behind at 2019…with Friends (Thur 16 – Sat 25 Jan). She Go’ll be taking a look at last ‘yares’ news stories, with special guest appearances from the best of her Normal for Norfolk friends!

Theatre

Be transported with a new season of theatre from the Playhouse: we begin with a wickedly satirical reworking of C S Lewis’ classic The Screwtape Letters (Thur 26 Sept), followed by another brilliant literary adaptation from Blackeyed Theatre with Brontë’s gothic masterpiece Jane Eyre (Mon 7 – Wed 9 Oct). Fresh from the Fringe comes the multi-award-winning Trojan Horse (Tue 29 Oct), a rave-reviewed piece exploring the Birmingham schools scandal where teachers and governors were accused of radicalising pupils.

Playhouse favourites The Pantaloons present Othello (Fri 1 – Sat 2 Nov), reimagined in a jazz-age setting, in this true-to-text tale of mischief and intense drama. Slasher-spoof Hollywood hilarity comes to the Playhouse with Director’s Cut (Fri 8 Nov), the story of a horror movie gone very wrong…

This Christmas, we’ll be revelling with a new version of Dicken’s A Christmas Carol from local stars Lost In Translation: A Circus Carol (Wed 11 – Sat 21 Nov). This is a new co-production between Lost In Translation Circus, Norwich Playhouse, and Norwich Theatre Royal. Filled with thrills, spills and plenty of festive spirit, this acrobatic spectacular is not to be missed!

Music

Enjoy the splendid acoustics in the Playhouse auditorium with some stunning music, and celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of Dylan’s famous Isle of Wight show with The Bob Dylan Story (Fri 20 Sept). Jazz icons The Ronnie Scott’s All Stars (Fri 4 Oct) share tales of the venue’s history through stunning music in a sixtieth anniversary concert, The Simon & Garfunkel Story (Fri 25 Oct & Sun 1 Dec) perform all their hits, whilst The Adele Songbook (Sat 26 Oct) faithfully re-creates the magic of Adele.

Local stars return to the Playhouse with the traditional seasonal celebration in The Joe Ringer Band Christmas Spectacular  (Thur 5 & Fri 6 Dec), and we start 2020 with a recreation of the golden era of music from The Pasadena Roof Orchestra (Fri 10 Jan).

Dance

From music to dance: Natyapriya (Sat 7 Sept) presents beautiful Indian dance, Tangomotion (Sat 21 Sept) transports audiences to Argentina, and Come Dance With Me (Sat 28 Sept) captures the war-time era with a ballroom dancing family saga.

The Playhouse is also delighted to present Yuli: The Carlos Acosta Story (Sun 27 Oct), where the film based on dance star Carlos Acosta’s life will be screened, followed by a unique chance to put questions to Carlos himself.

Later in the year, panto style breakdancing folk mash-up The Lock In Christmas Carol (Sat 7 Dec) promises a boisterous evening of festive fun. The New Year brings the return of Rambert2 (Wed 29 – Thur 30 Jan 2020) for three performances following 2019’s sell out shows. Fierce new choreography showcases the talents of the best young dancers around with immersive and gripping pieces.

There’s plenty more too! To see the entire season of forthcoming shows, visit norwichplayhouse.co.uk.